East Tennessee Concert Band Sudler Awards Presentation Concert

by ETCB Publicity Coordinator Sophie Kershaw

Phone (865) 773-3484

Fax (865) 988-5674

Email Sophie:


The Sudler Awards Presentation Concert was performed at Central United Methodist Church of Lenoir City on Sunday, February 24th, 2008, at 3:00 pm, by the East Tennessee Concert Band under the direction of Dr. Ric Best and guest conductors Roy Holder, Lake Braddock High School, Washington DC, and Dr. John Culvahouse, Kennesaw State University, Marietta, GA. The performance placed the community spotlight on the Roane State College Celebration Singers under the direction of Ms. Brenda Luggie.

The Sudler Silver Scroll was presented during the concert by Dr. Culvahouse, board member of the John Philip Sousa Foundation. The award includes a commemorative plaque, certificate for each band member, and the Diploma of the Sudler Order of Merit for the director.

The Sudler Silver Scroll is the most prestigious award available to a community concert band. The ETCB was selected for this honor during the December, 2007, Midwest International Band and Orchestra Clinic which draws over 14,000 members from the international music community to Chicago, IL, for a week-long annual conference.

The announcement of the prize was made at the John Philip Sousa Foundationís annual awards ceremony on Friday, December 21st, before an invitation-only audience, including some of the most distinguished and influential members of the music world.

Dedicated to upholding the ideals and standards of John Philip Sousa, an icon of the American spirit, the John Philip Sousa Foundation uses band music to promote international understanding. Since 1971, the Sousa Foundation has undertaken numerous projects to benefit band directors, students, and music throughout the world. Community concert bands selected to receive the award must meet an extensive list of criteria including high standards of excellence in musical performance and outreach projects in the surrounding community.

The ETCB is the first recipient of the Sudler Silver Scroll in Tennessee and is among only 29 other community bands world-wide to receive the award since 1978. The award is especially significant to the ETCB members because they are all volunteers from a variety of professional backgrounds, many outside of music. The band has reached new levels of achievement under the direction of Dr. Ric Best. This distinguishing honor is not unfamiliar to Dr. Best, a 1993 Sudler Laureate for the Legion of Honor. By guiding and motivating the ETCB members to strive for the highest levels of musicality, Dr. Best has continued his outstanding history of dedication to the music world.

Dr. John Culvahouse is a professor of instrumental music education at Kennesaw State University in Marietta, GA. He received his bachelor and master of music education degrees from the University of Tennessee and his Doctor of Musical Arts from the University of South Carolina.  Dr. Culvahouse is a Sudler Flag of Honor and Sudler Trophy Laureate.

Roy Holder is an avid supporter and friend of the ETCB. He is one of very few high-school band directors in the American Bandmasters Association and holds the honor of having performed at the Midwest Clinic on three occasions.  He also has the distinction of having received both the Sudler Flag and the Sudler Shield. Mr. Holder, originally of Alcoa, TN, received his bachelor and master of music education degrees from the University of Tennessee.

The concert was the culmination of true musical spirit and character highlighted by three original Sousa marches and a performance by the Celebration Singers.


The band members who went to Chicago to hear the announcement of the Sudler Award winner.

Left to right: Tim Michaels, Lisa Michaels, Ric Best, Teresa Horst, Bryan Massengale, Ben Covin